In preparation for Thanksgivukkah this year, I wanted to try out this awesome lookin’ Sweet Potato Latke recipe from the LA Times. It combines one of my favorite Thanksgiving foods, the humble sweet potato, and my favorite Hanukkah treat, the latke, so how can it possibly go wrong? Today is test day.

The difference between sweet potatoes and yams has always stumped me, as most people I know use the two terms interchangeably.  I ventured on an internet quest to find the answer: apparently the two are different root vegetables entirely. For this recipe, you can use either one. Good to know!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 1/2 pounds orange-fleshed sweet potatoes

1 medium onion (I used a yellow onion)

2 large eggs

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground white pepper (I used regular ground pepper)

5 tablespoons flour

1/2 cup oil, maybe a little more available

How do you make the latkes? Just follow the pictures below!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I peeled the sweet potatoes, grated them as well as the onions, then mixed them in with the eggs/salt/pepper in one of our Mason Cash Cane Mixing Bowls.  I used two bowls, a size 4 (large) to mix up my ingredients, and a size 12 (smaller, but still big) to whisk the eggs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The recipe suggests you fry one side for 3 minutes, flip, and fry the other side for 2.5 minutes.  I say fry both sides for 3 minutes, just to cook the inside a little more and get those really crispy edges!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Voila!  So yummy.  I served my latkes with creme fraiche, chives, and a sliced crabapple garnish.  I also had a side of cinnamon apple sauce, and cranberry jam available for a sweeter finish.

Enjoy, and happy cooking this weekend! How are you celebrating Thanksgivukkah!

Join the conversation! 3 Comments

  1. […] Thanksgivukkah Sweet Potato Latkes (pacificmerchants.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply
  2. […] thing I’m not nixing from my Thanksgiving menu is the Sweet Potato Latkes I made this year. Everyone LOVED them, they were easy, and they’re a great alternative to […]

    Reply
  3. […] thing I’m not nixing from my Thanksgiving menu is the Sweet Potato Latkes I made this year. Everyone LOVED them, they were easy, and they’re a great alternative to that […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Entertaining, Holiday, Mason Cash, Pacific Merchants, Recipes

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,